“25 DEGREES IN WINTER”


Catalogue text by Christiane Dressler, 2010

These paintings are chromatic organisms, entirely of its own kind. On the one hand, they assert their obligation with regard to tradition, on the other hand they celebrate individuality and boundless independence, as if they never heard of the great role model they quote. And the beholder, the more he tries to solve this contradiction, produces déjà-vu- and ’aha’- effects, as if the reception of art had to assure itself of its basic premises time and again.

who would not, while looking at the painting of Susanne Kamps, think of Matisse, Dufy, Derain and the Fauves with their groundbreaking con- cept of liberating color and shape of any prima- rily object-depicting function? Of their rapture for the light that is captured in their paintings just like it is in those of the artist from Düsseldorf? Motivic and formal parallels can not be denied.
in “La Joie de vivre“, this life-affirming initial work, Matisse celebrates a lavish feast of color; a mood coinciding with that of Susanne Kamps, when she works in Southern France. There, where she sharpens her sentiment for color, where she feels its expressive value, where she experiences while painting how the light awakens the color to life and herewith also her paintings. Landscapes satiated with light come into being here, harbor views, sun-drenched ateliers, interiors, still lifes, window views as extensively fulminant abstractions of color, shape and ornament.
This is one aspect of her work; the post-modern art- and substantiality reference with regard to the reality of the 21st century is the other. A belief in progress that has turned obsolete and fragmented world views determine the human being today, who self-ironically, self-referentially, with the attitude of a synthesizing puzzle freak, builds reality and truths himself, who cites tra- ditions without being able to deduce a new, meaningful identity.
“i am the model!“, this euphoric self-affirming claim by henri Matisse applies even more to- day and at the same time differently than ever before. On the one hand, each individual has to patch together what an industrial society based on growth produces: deregulated labor markets, de-structured life situations, an economical eco- logical system full of risk. On the other hand, this is exactly where the chance to survive lies. Only in the permanent, creative adaptation of biographical designs to ever-changing life situa- tions, the modern self develops its resistance, in the indomitable “nevertheless and Regardless“.
how does Susanne Kamps deal with these facets of life in her paintings? She transports quotations of her art-historical role models into the present, in order to leave the influence that determined their style behind her, and in order to consistently realize the motto of modernity “i am the model!“. As the location, she chooses the private space, implying memories of travels.
There are the atelier paintings, overly full biographical landscapes, in which each object takes up its distinctly own, living place, of course, with great serenity: a wedge-shaped, saffron-, lemony to orange-yellow tabletop expands with colored dots, carafe, small chest, ceramic, glass jars, chairs, books, flower- and fruit still lifes in a florally structured magenta- to crimson-red interior, the verandah door remains shut in complementary, cold green. in other interiors, the artist drapes clothes and underclothes, coincidentally, maybe recently cast off, scarves, sweets, plump exotic fruits on pink blankets across the Moroccan mosaic floor, blue-green dotted, which intensifies colors and promises compositional support, before the gaze rests in cascades of dancing cherry blossoms outside the window. Outside and inside, spaces and color chords penetrate and enhance each other. An orgiastic, pleasure-oriented play takes place freely in private with languorous color perceptions, synesthetics, dissonances and quiet shrill queer undertones that could not be more borderline.
in other paintings, the atelier assumes an in- dependent existence as a pure landscape of comforts, revealing insights as well as a view, and in addition lots of inviting details: blankets, decorative cushions, cozy sofas, cannikins, mugs, slippers, mirrors, lamps, ranging to Japa- nese delicatessen and the cat Bijou, roaming the rooms languorously with a bright red nose. Pure relaxation and luxury, a tasteful invitation to the delightful life, in whichever direction one glances.
intertwining color, shape and space into chromatic rhythmized arcs of suspense of every color is an exceptional strength of these paintings. in order to enhance color cascades artistically, Kamps disentangles them from the object, with-out giving up on the same. Details and materia- lity, almost abstracted to a surface ornament, describe the motif, pooling mood and atmos- phere of the moments of lived happiness.
when Susanne Kamps quotes Matisse, she at the same time undermines his program. he too has never left the object of his private surround- ings: Because like “a good actor” in different plays, the object too can “play a different role in ten different paintings”1. But while Matisse un- derstands art as a spiritualized form, “i dream of an art of balance, the purity and tranquility with- out any problem, without any disturbing issue”2, Susanne Kamps’ primary interest is the work on color as such, as an expression of what the art- ist describes as her “inner nature”.
if one gets to meet her, one understands this point. From her hair, via her eyes until the color of her clothes, from the lipstick via the scarf until the glove she wears, every detail, every object in her atelier, the kitchen, the bathroom, bed- or living room, expresses an essential affinity with color and its precise placement in every situation- specific context. harmonious chords, pointed cadences, sweeping arcs of gaudy effects of cadmium yellow, chromoxy green, ultramarine or deep-sea blue, from magenta via sunny vermillion red until bloody crimson red, she accomplishes these iridescent combinations, without
them ever appearing pretentious or exalted, without any attitude of affected showmanship.
Even though she learned theory and practical deployment of color from hermann-Josef Kuhna from scratch and mastered them perfectly, she throws his way of painting overboard. if her teacher places every color dot by dot in mi- nuscule particles on the canvas, granting every color, every paintbrush its own jars and contain- ers, while working on multiple paintings simul- taneously, Susanne Kamps operates differently. She finds her colors within, in feeling out the motif, carrying them around in her mind in visu- ally synesthetizing sentiments, in order to then ultimately try them out, letting them unfold on canvas into a tension-filled mixture, which she soothes and tames so that it won’t explode.
The view of the harbor of Beaulieu-sur-mer is crowned by a private still life in the foreground. The parasol protects the table laid with cloth, small chest, sewing utensils, objects she may have arranged in that particular way there. But this is secondary. They function as attributes in the painting, in order to direct the gaze of the beholder. To connect the private living space with the publicness of the landscape. in this sense, her paintings, interiors, window views and window images as well as the floral and culinary still lifes are psychographic stenographs, snapshots of private happiness, of what is hard- earned, experienced and dreamed of. That she balances them out time and again despite all the queer peaks seems to me a gift of nature, for which the artist just as much as the beholder may be grateful. Joy of living, pleasure and frenzy of colors, the feast of the little things that make life so worth living – Susanne Kamps establishes them as an authentic program. And this takes place here and now in private, viewed with the eyes of a epicurean woman! “25 DEGREES in winTER” is the working temperature!
Christiane Dressler, 2010

1 henri Matisse in: ingo F. walther (ed.), Art of the 20th Century, Taschen, Cologne 2002, p. 39

25 DEGRÉS EN HIVER


Katalogtext von Christiane Dressler, 2010

Diese Bilder sind chromatische Organismen der ganz eigenen Art. Auf der einen Seite behaupten sie ihre Verpflichtung gegenüber der Tradition, auf der anderen Seite zelebrieren sie Individua­lität und schrankenlose Unabhängigkeit, als hätten sie niemals von den großen Vorbildern, die sie zitieren, gehört. Und der Betrachter, je mehr er versucht, diesen Widerspruch zu lösen, produziert Déjà-vu- und Aha-Effekte, als habe die Rezeption von Kunst sich ihrer Grundvoraussetzungen immer wieder und neu zu versichern.
Wer würde beim Betrachten der Bilder von Susanne Kamps nicht an Matisse denken, an Dufy, Derain und die Fauves mit ihrem wegweisenden Konzept der Befreiung der Farbe und Form von jeder primär gegenstandsdarstellenden Funktion? An deren Begeisterung für das Licht, das in ihren Bildern ebenso eingefangen ist wie in denen der Düsseldorfer Künstlerin? Motivische und formale Parallelen sind nicht zu verkennen.

In la „Joie de Vivre“, diesem lebensbejahenden Initialwerk feiert Matisse ein überschwängliches Fest der Farbe, eine Stimmung, die der von Susanne Kamps entspricht, wenn sie in Südfrankreich arbeitet. Dort, wo sie ihre Empfindung für Farbe schärft, wo sie ihren Ausdruckswert spürt, wo sie malend erfährt, wie das Licht die Farbe zum Leben erweckt, und damit auch ihre Bilder. Lichtgesättigte Landschaften entstehen hier, Hafenansichten, sonnengetränkte Ateliers, Interieurs, Stilleben, Schaufensteransichten als flächig fulminante Abstraktionen aus Farbe, Form und Ornament.

Das ist der eine Aspekt ihres Werks, der postmoderne Kunst- und Wirklichkeitsbezug zur Realität des 21-sten Jahrhunderts der andere. Ein obsolet gewordener Fortschrittsglaube und fragmentierte Weltbilder bestimmen den Menschen heute, der selbstironisch, selbstreferenziell mit der Haltung eines synthetisierenden Tüftlers sich Wirklichkeit und Wahrheiten selber baut, der Traditionen zitiert, ohne daraus eine neue, Sinn stiftende Identität ableiten zu können.

„Das Modell bin ich!“, dieser euphorische Selbstbehauptungsanspruch von Henri Matisse gilt heute mehr und zugleich anders denn je. Auf der einen Seite muss jeder Einzelne zusammen­flicken, was eine auf Wachstum orientierte Industriegesellschaft produziert: deregulierte Arbeitsmärkte, entstrukturierte Lebenslagen, ein risikoreiches ökonomisch ökologisches System. Auf der anderen Seite besteht gerade darin die Chance zu überleben. Nur in der permanenten, kreativen Adaption biografischer Entwürfe an sich wandelnde Lebenslagen entwickelt das moderne Ich seine Resistenz, im unermüdlichen „Dennoch und Trotzalledem“.

Wie geht Susanne Kamps mit diesen Facetten des Lebens in ihren Bildern um? Zitate ihrer kunsthistorischen Vorbilder transportiert sie in die Gegenwart, um deren Stil prägenden Einfluss hinter sich zu lassen und das Motto der Moderne „Das Modell bin ich!“ konsequent zu realisieren. Als Schauplatz wählt sie den privaten Raum, der Erinnerungen an Reisen impliziert.

Da sind die Atelierbilder, übervolle biographische Landschaften, in denen jedes Ding seinen lebendigen, ureigenen Platz einnimmt, selbstverständlich, mit großer Gelassenheit: Eine keilförmige, safran-, zitronig bis orangegelbe Tischplatte breitet sich aus mit Farbtuben, Karaffe, Kästchen, Keramik, Glastigeln, Stühlchen, Büchern, Blumen- und Fruchtstilleben in floral strukturiertem magenta- bis karminroten Innenraum, die Verandatür bleibt verschlossen in komplementärem, kaltem Grün. In anderen Interieurs drapiert die Künstlerin Kleider und Unterkleider, zufällig, vielleicht gerade abgestreift, Tücher, Naschwerk, pralle Südfrüchte auf rosa Decken über dem marokkanischen Mosaikfußboden, blaugrün getupft, der Farben intensiviert und kompositorischen Halt verspricht, bevor der Blick aus dem Fenster in Kaskaden tanzender Kirschblüten ruht. Draußen und drinnen, Räume und Farbakkorde durchdringen und steigern sich. Ein orgiastisches, lustbetontes Spiel findet im Privaten seinen freien Lauf mit wohligen Farbempfindungen, Synästhesien, Dissonanzen und leisen schrill schrägen Untertönen, die grenzwertiger nicht sein könnten.

In anderen Bildern verselbständigt sich das Atelier zur reinen Wohlfühllandschaft, die Einblick und Ausblick zeigt, dazu jede Menge einladender Details: Decken, Dekorationskissen, kuschelige Sofas, Kännchen, Tassen, Pantinen, Spiegel, Lampen bis hin zu japanischen Delikatessen und der Katze Bijou, die wohlig mit rot leuchtender Nase durch die Räume streift. Entspannung und Luxus pur, eine geschmackvolle Einladung zum genussvollen Leben, wohin man blickt.

Das Verschränken von Farbe, Form und Raum zu chromatisch rhythmisierten Spannungsbögen jeder Couleur ist eine außergewöhnliche Stärke dieser Bilder. Um Farbkaskaden artistisch zu steigern, löst Kamps sie vom Gegenstand, ohne ihn aufzugeben. Details und Stofflichkeiten, fast schon zum Flächenornament abstrahiert, umschreiben das Motiv, konzentrieren Stimmung und Atmosphäre der Momente gelebten Glücks.

Wenn Susanne Kamps Matisse zitiert, so unterwandert sie gleichzeitig dessen Programm. Auch er hat den Gegenstand seines privaten Umfelds nie verlassen: Denn wie „ein guter Schauspieler“ in verschiedenen Stücken kann auch der Gegenstand „eine unterschiedliche Rolle in zehn verschiedenen Gemälden spielen“. Doch während Matisse Kunst als vergeistigte Form versteht, „ich träume von einer Kunst des Gleichgewichts, der Reinheit und der Ruhe ohne jede Problematik, ohne jedes aufwühlende Sujet“, ist Susanne Kamps primäres Interesse die Arbeit an der Farbe selbst, als Ausdruck für das, was die Künstlerin als ihr „inneres Wesen“ umschreibt.

Begegnet man ihr, versteht man das. Von der Haar- über die Augen- bis zur Kleiderfarbe, vom Lippenstift über das Tuch bis zum Handschuh, den sie trägt, jedes Detail, jeder Gegenstand in ihrem Atelier, der Küche, dem Bad, Schlaf- oder Wohnraum, drückt eine essenzielle Affinität zur Farbe und ihrer punktgenauen Platzierung in jedem situationsspezifischen Kontext aus. Harmonische Akkorde, spitze Kadenzen, schweifende Bögen aus knallbunten Effekten von Kadmiumgelb, Chromoxydgrün, Ultramarin oder tiefem Meeresblau, von Magenta über Sonnenzinnober bis zu blutigem Karminrot, ihr gelingen diese schillernden Kombinationen, ohne dass sie je prätentiös oder exaltiert aussähen, ohne jede Attitüde affektierter Effekthascherei.

Obwohl sie Theorie und praktische Anwendung der Farbe bei Hermann-Josef Kuhna von der Pike auf gelernt hat und perfekt beherrscht, wirft sie dessen Malweise über Bord. Wenn ihr Lehrer mit kalkulierter Akribie jede Farbe Punkt für Punkt in winzigen Partikeln auf der Leinwand platziert, jeder Farbe, jedem Pinsel, eigene Tigel und Behältnisse einräumt, während er an mehreren Bildern gleichzeitig arbeitet, geht Susanne Kamps anders vor. Sie findet ihre Farben, innerlich im Erspüren des Motivs, trägt sie in Gedanken in visuell synästhesierenden Empfindungen mit sich herum, um sie schließlich auszuprobie­ren, sie sich auf der Leinwand entfalten zu lassen zu einem spannungsreichen Gemisch, das sie beruhigt und bändigt damit es nicht explodiert.

Den Blick auf den Hafen von Beaulieu-sur-mer krönt ein privates Stilleben im Vordergrund. Der Sonnenschirm schützt den gedeckten Tisch mit Tuch, Kästchen, Nähutensilien, Gegenstände, die sie so vielleicht dort arrangiert hat. Doch das ist sekundär. Im Bild fungieren sie als Attribute, um den Blick des Betrachters zu lenken. Um den privaten Lebensraum mit dem öffentlichen der Landschaft zu verbinden. In diesem Sinne sind ihre Bilder, Interieurs, Fensterausblicke und Schaufensterbilder bis hin zu den floralen und kulinarischen Stillleben psychographische Stenogramme, Momentaufnahmen privaten Glücks, des erarbeiteten, des erlebten und des erträumten. Dass sie diese bei all den schrägen Spitzen immer wieder im Gleichgewicht aus­balanciert, scheint mir eine Gabe der Natur, über die die Künstlerin ebenso wie der Betrachter dankbar sein kann. Lebensfreude, Lust und Farbenrausch, das Fest der kleinen Dinge, die das Leben so lebenswert machen – Susanne Kamps etabliert sie als ein authentisches Programm. Und das findet hier und heute im Privaten statt, gesehen mit den Augen einer genusstüchtigen Frau! „25 DEGRÉS EN HIVER“ ist die Betriebstemperatur!